Fair Labor Standards Act
Protecting Your Wages and Hours
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a bill that was passed in 1938 to
help ensure that workers receive fair pay and reasonable hours in their
work week. Under the FLSA, there is a maximum of a 40-hour work week within
a 7-day period and each worker must receive a minimum wage for each hour
that they work. According to the U.S. Department of Labor, "Unless
specifically exempted, employees covered by the Act must receive overtime
pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek at a rate not less
than time and one-half their regular rates of pay."
Also protected under the Fair Labor Standards Act are the rights of children
and child labor, which was put into place to help protect a child's
educational opportunities. Before the FLSA was enacted, some children
were pulled from school at an early age to help run the family business.
Under the FLSA, children under the age of 18 are prohibited from working
a full 40 hour work week and children under the age of 16 are not allowed
to be employed in the state of New Hampshire.
Another Fair Labor Standards Act regulation is the governance of minimum
wage. Under the federal minimum wage, no state can pay a worker less than
minimum wage. In New Hampshire, the minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. Each
employee must be automatically paid at a minimum of $7.25 regardless of
age, gender or work capability. If your rights have been denied to you,
it is important that you work with an attorney to help you recover what
you are owed.
New Hampshire Employment Lawyer for Representation
If you have been denied break periods, meal time, minimum wage, or if you
feel that your rights have been violated in any way, it is important that
you work with our team to help you recover compensation. At Shaheen &
Gordon, P.A., we understand that this time in your life is vital and you
need to ensure that you receive what is fairly owed to you.
Contact our team today to speak with an attorney regarding your employment law concern.