Maine OUI Attorneys
Arrested for OUI? Get the Strong Legal Defense You Need.
If you were arrested for drunk driving, you need an attorney with the right
experience to help you avoid the consequences of a conviction. In Maine
& New Hampshire, drunk driving is called operating under the influence
(OUI) - sometimes known as DUI - and an OUI conviction could lead to serious
After an arrest, it is imperative that you speak with our qualified Maine
OUI defense lawyers as soon as possible. For the aggressive legal advocacy
that you need, contact our criminal defense team at Shaheen & Gordon,
P.A. today. Our firm has
served clients for more than 60 years and is ready to help you.
OUI Lawyers Know How to Fight Your Charges
In Maine, our clients are uniquely dependent on their driving privilege
to support themselves and their families. A conviction for impaired driving
may result in personal and professional consequences which our attorneys
What makes our OUI Attorneys in Maine unique:
We are trained in the
field sobriety tests that law enforcement rely upon to build their drunk driving cases and
use that training to establish reasonable doubt in their cases.
- We also understand the nuances of breath and blood testing and regularly
identify legal and scientific issues to challenge breath and blood alcohol results.
- We are prepared to respond to OUI challenges involving drugs.More and more,
state and local police pursue cases based on recreational and prescription
drug impairment, which present a range of different legal issues.
Maine's Zero Tolerance Law
According to the Bureau of Highway Safety, individuals under the age of
21 are subject to special laws. Maine's zero tolerance law states
that it is unlawful for any person younger than 21 years of age to operate
– or attempt to operate – a vehicle with any measureable alcohol
in their system. Persons 21 years and older cannot drive with a BAC (Blood
Alcohol Content) that exceeds .08%.
OUI Penalties in Maine
An OUI conviction can lead to a series of punishments that can affect your
personal and professional life.
Potential penalties for OUI can include:
1st offense: Up to 1 year of jail time, $500 - $2,000 in fines, and 150 days of license
2nd offense: Up to 1 year of jail time, $700 - $2,000 in fines, and 3 years of license
3rd offense: Up to 5 years of jail time, $1,100 - $5,000 in fines, and 6 years of
Standard OUI is usually a misdemeanor offense, but special circumstances
can lead to harsher penalties and more severe charges. For example, a
BAC of .15% or higher is considered an "aggravating factor,"
and can lead to additional penalties, such as a mandatory jail sentence.
Other aggravating factors include OUI involving a car accident, injury
to a third party, or a fatal crash.
Drunk Driving Practice Areas
Our OUI practice areas include:
Schedule Your Initial Consultation Today
Our OUI defense attorneys are qualified and ready to fight for your rights
against any criminal charge, including a standard first offense OUI, felony
OUIs and OUIs with aggravating circumstances. For additional information
about your legal options, speak with an attorney from our firm. You don't
have any time to waste, so schedule your initial evaluation when you
call our law office today.