New Hampshire DWI Attorney
Fighting OUIs in Concord, Dover & Manchester, New Hampshire & Maine
The DWI attorneys at Shaheen & Gordon, P.A. aggressively defend OUI cases. Our defense team is comprised of former prosecutors and seasoned defense lawyers who have been trained to understand how the State builds its cases and to apply that knowledge to securing the best available results in drunk and impaired driving cases. Our approach is to actively prepare for trial while exploring opportunities to resolve each case in a manner that avoids long-term license losses and, in certain cases, incarceration.
Arrested for DWI/OUI? Click here to contact Shaheen & Gordon, P.A. for a FREE Case Review.
Hear from a Satisfied Client
"I hired Attorney Harrington to represent me in my DUI case. I had
never been charged with anything before, or even been to court, so I had
no idea what to expect. My case had an excellent outcome (charge was thrown
out), but just as important, Tim educated me on the entire process and
made sure I was not put into any situation where i was unprepared. Tim
impressed me with both his legal knowledge and his ability to explain
what was happening in plain language. His paralegal, Ms Jennifer Cinfo,
was also extremely helpful with updating me on the status of my case when
needed and answering my questions when Tim was busy in court. I recommend
this firm highly."
- A DWI Client, 5/5 Stars
DUI & OUI Laws in NH
We defend drunk driving and impaired driving cases in New Hampshire, Maine, and Massachusetts. In New Hampshire, charges for impaired driving are typically referred to as driving while intoxicated (DWI), but other terms are also are also commonly used to describe this offense. These include driving under the influence (DUI) or operating under the influence (OUI).
Our New Hampshire DWI/OUI lawyers appear in court week in and week out, as well as in administrative hearings. They understand the draconian impact that a simple license loss may have on employment matters and family obligations. With this understanding as a backdrop, they work to create opportunities to resolve cases reasonably, but stand ready to take cases to trial when necessary. Our New Hampshire DWI attorneys regularly try cases and are proud of their results, regularly securing of "not guilty" verdicts on behalf of our clients.
License Suspension & Sobriety Tests
Defending these cases requires an understanding of the complicated laws that apply to drunk driving cases, the administrative license suspension process, the manner in which the State relies on standard field sobriety testing (SFST) to build its case and the scientific underpinnings of DWI/OUI cases. Our work doesn't end when the case is over in court. We educate our clients regarding issues relating to reinstatement of driving privileges thereafter.
- What is the penalty for refusing a chemical test?
If this is your first offense and you have no prior DWI convictions on your record, then you will face driver's license revocation for 180 days. If you have any prior DWI chemical test refusals on your record, or you have been convicted of driving while intoxicated before, then you can face two years' revocation.
- I was arrested for DWI with drugs. How long could my license be revoked for this?
According to the New Hampshire Department of Safety, a first DWI and drugs offense is punishable by 90 days to 2 years' revocation. On a second or subsequent offense, the revocation periods will be the same.
- Who is considered a habitual DWI offender?
According to the New Hampshire Department of Safety,
Habitual offenders have very poor driving records and certification is based on a 5 "rolling year" (not a calendar year) period based upon date of violation resulting in conviction. Any combination of 12 violations for speeding, crossing a solid yellow line, operating without a valid license contrary to RSA 263:1 and operating without proof of insurance within this five (5) year period will result in certification.
Three (3) "major" convictions within this same time period will result in certification. The most common "major" convictions are: driving while intoxicated, reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident, disobeying a police officer contrary to RSA 265:4, operating with a suspended or revoked license, taking a motor vehicle without the owner's consent, negligent homicide involving a motor vehicle, and manslaughter involving a motor vehicle.
In addition, some one can become a habitual offender by "mixing and matching" One (1) "major" conviction with any combination of eight (8) convictions for speeding, crossing the solid yellow line, operating without a valid license and/or operating without proof of insurance. Two (2) "major" convictions and any combination of four (4) of the foregoing will also result in certification as a habitual offender. For more information, please read RSA 259:39 and RSA 262:19-24.
- If my license is suspended for DWI, how can I get it back?
You can only petition to get your license restored to you after you have fulfilled the entire period of your mandated suspension for your DWI conviction. You must also provide proof that you meet the SR-22 insurance filing requirements. The third and final requirement before you can get your license back is to complete an IDIP, WIDIP or an MOP program. These are all impaired driver programs. Locations include Manchester, Dover, Berlin, Epping and Keene.
- How can I find out how many demerit points I will receive for my DWI?
The New Hampshire Department of Safety's Division of Motor Vehicles lists how many demerit points any given traffic offense will warrant. According to the statutes:
- 265-A:3 "Aggravated DWI" will warrant 6 points
- 265-A:2 "DWI" will warrant 6 points
In New Hampshire, there are three separate categories for suspension in the demerit program: under 18 drivers, under 21 drivers and over 21 drivers. If you are under the age of 18, 6 points will warrant a 3 month suspension, 12 points will warrant a 6 month suspension and 18 points will warrant a 1 year suspension. If you are under the age of 21, nine points within one years' time will warrant a 3 month suspension, 15 points within two years will warrant a 6 month suspension and 21 points within 3 years will warrant a 1 year suspension. If you are over the age of 21, 12 points within one year will warrant a 3 month suspension, 18 points within two years will warrant a 6 month suspension and 24 points in three years will warrant a 1 year suspension.
- NH’s New Restricted Operator’s License Following DWI Convictions
- Arrested for DWI? You Need to Request a DMV Hearing!
- Can I Appeal My DWI Conviction?
- Is it Always Illegal to Refuse a Breath Test?
- Shaheen & Gordon, P.A. DWI Lawyer Recognized by The Best Lawyers in America
Contact one of our convenient office locations to learn how we can fight your DWI!
“He spent a long time on the phone with me and was very honest and up front about the costs of service. It was nice to finally get some assistance with the questions I had.”- Vanessa L.
“They have always had my best interest in mind and have worked diligently toward finding a successful resolution.”- Howard P.
“He explained the process and outlined each step before we made it, and was always available by phone and email when I needed clarification.”- Alia S.
ALS and DWI Victory – Keene District Court Case Dismissed
D.W.I./D.U.I./O.U.I. Not Guilty
D.W.I./D.U.I./O.U.I. Not Guilty
D.W.I./D.U.I./O.U.I. Charges Dropped
Goffstown District Court Charges Dropped
Lancaster District Court Charges Dropped
DWI Second Offense Victory – Manchester District Court Case Dismissed
DWI Victory – Concord District Court Not Guilty
DWI Victory – Hooksett District Court Case Dismissed
DWI Victory – Laconia District Court Case Dismissed
Committed to Your Peace of Mind
A Record of Achievement
Connected to Our Community
Unique Legal Experience
Fearless Legal Advocacy